PDA

View Full Version : Republic, Plato

Joakim
01-16-2006, 04:22 PM
There was a quote by plato that caught my attention

"There will be no end to the troubles of states, or of humanity itself, till philosophers are kings in this world... Political power and philosophy thus come into the same hands" - Plato, republic

Im far from an expert on philosophy but I find it very interesting to try to understand what these according to many great thinkers of our time was really trying to say.

Do you think that his philosophy would be true even today?

Would be fun to hear if annyone has any ideas on the ancient greeks ;)

IrishCanadian
01-18-2006, 01:04 AM
Politics being a form of philospphy of course this would still be true today. However I somehow think that being a polititian did not make someone a philosopher in Plato's mind. ;) But yes, today political power and pphilosophy do come in the same hands. Otherwise there would be no debate of moral issues in political gatherings. Unfortunately I don't tend to agree with all the philosophies of our modern poloticians. So in that sence Plato was wrong I suppose. haha. But really, I don't know, what do you think Joakim?

The Unnamable
01-18-2006, 01:38 AM
Isn’t Politics the least convincing of the Performing Arts?

IrishCanadian
01-18-2006, 07:14 PM
Hahahaha. As a drama major i can vouch for that!

everyman
01-19-2006, 01:21 AM
"There will be no end to the troubles of states, or of humanity itself, till philosophers are kings in this world... Political power and philosophy thus come into the same hands" - Plato, republic

;)