PDA

View Full Version : what is shakespheres measure for measure about?

Dantes muse
10-14-2003, 05:03 PM
shakesphere was a clever man, good with words.

Iam looking at his play Measure for Measure and i was wondering what is it about?

Is their a moral to it?

I have looked with play up, im not good at makinf sense of things lol

thx to all who help

Sindhu
10-16-2003, 09:09 AM
I'd be glad to help, but maybe I'd better send you an email than post here in case you would like a somewhat long rply. How about dropping me an email with specific things you want to know and I'll reply promptly.
Sindhu.

Dantes muse
10-16-2003, 10:52 AM
heres my email :
[email protected]

Im not looking for any thing specific, just on whats its about
(doesnt have to be 3 pages long lol)

thx tons :D

Sindhu
10-18-2003, 02:13 AM
Ok, since you don't require anything very long, I'll just post here. What is the play "about?" It's about so many things, even a listing would take pages! To start off, this is indicated in its being usually referred to as a dark comedy or even more aptly a problem play. Problems abound and we cannot say with certainity that any of them have been fully resolved at the end. First you have the question of law and order, of organizing and controlling society. The Duke deputizes his authority and tries to play an omnipotent role through hidden supervision. But his motives are not praiseworthy, he wants the laws to be enforced, but does not want himself to be considered a tyrant, so he transfers the responsibility together with the oprobrium to the willing Angelo- very convenient.