PDA

View Full Version : occupation-demographic profile of the board part 2

fayefaye
10-04-2003, 05:49 AM
just out of curiosity, what're y'all doing with ur lives? what r u studying/ working as?

KLO
10-04-2003, 05:46 PM
I have a Ph.D. in American Literature, and I am currently working part-time at three different colleges, teaching everything from composition to literature to technical writing. However, I am working very hard to get a full-time, hopefully tenure-track, position at a college/university here in the US. And, since I am a fairly recent graduate, I am still in the process of revising my dissertation into 3 book manuscripts! :rolleyes:

Rotty1021
10-04-2003, 06:09 PM
What was your dissertation on?

KLO
10-04-2003, 06:18 PM
My dissertation was on the use of Native American characters in works by white, canonical, American authors. I began with a short survey of authors prior to the 20th century (Rowlandson, Cooper, Thoreau), then had a chapter each on Robert Penn Warren, Willa Cather, and William Faulkner, and I ended with another survey of more contemporary authors, both white and non-white (McMurtry, Cormac McCarthy, Toni Morrison, Alice Walker).

Rotty1021
10-04-2003, 07:00 PM
Sounds cool. I bet it's fun, though taxing at times, to write about great literature using analytical skills.

KLO
10-04-2003, 07:26 PM
I love what I do! And the more I read, the more I find that I want to read, you know?

Rotty1021
10-04-2003, 08:04 PM
...And the more I read, the more I find that I want to read, you know?

I can assimilate with that statement quite well. There's nothing like being washed down by the beauty of the English language, and then wanting more of it. In fact, I tell family members that this and the internet are my addictions. :D

ihrocks
10-06-2003, 08:44 PM
It's hard to explain what I do, but I work for consulting firm. Yes, it's often as boring as it sounds. 8)

ihrocks

AbdoRinbo
10-07-2003, 02:32 AM