PDA

View Full Version : Aloha

starrwriter
10-22-2005, 02:46 PM
Yes, I live in Hawaii, tropical islands of sun and fun. The Air Force brought me here in 1972 -- the only good thing they ever did for me. I have lived on three islands: Maui, the Big Island and now I'm back in the big city of Honolulu.

I'm a former newspaper reporter and travel writer. I began writing fiction in 1990 and it took me 9 years to get my first book published. Two more books have been published since 2000 -- a mystery novel and an autobiographical novel. I have written a total of 77 short stories (my favorite fiction format) and 27 have been published in magazines and book anthologies. I write journalism pieces from time to time. Last year my magazine article about 5 fishermen lost at sea in a storm won a first-place award from the Society of Professional Journalists.

I grew up in a small town in Michigan and left for warmer climates after graduating from high school. I have a BS degree in anthropology from the University of Hawaii, but I have never used it for anything practical. When I'm not writing, I dabble in web design and software programming.

I was married for several years long ago, but you don't want to get me started on that. I plan to retire next year, ogle young bikini-clad tourist women on Waikiki Beach like a dirty old man, and write occasional short stories when the spirit moves me. And go snorkeling often. Half of the beauty of Hawaii is underwater.

B-Mental
10-22-2005, 07:20 PM
Hi Starrwriter, welcome to the forum. Maybe you could add some links to any of your writing that might be posted on the web. Cool, thanks

samercury
10-22-2005, 09:38 PM
Hello starrwriter :D

Welcome to the forum! I support B-Mental's request ;). See you around

starrwriter
10-23-2005, 02:00 AM
Hi Starrwriter, welcome to the forum. Maybe you could add some links to any of your writing that might be posted on the web.