PDA

View Full Version : This is my first short story.

Erinas
10-05-2005, 06:24 AM
A Little Toy Shop
By: John Belcher

My name is Roan, and I love the world, and the people on it. But I see the world as a precarious balance, and the human race is causing the balance to tilt. I live in the time of self-indulgence, the Gilded Age re-visited. Ninety-Nine lifestyles all encompass the herald of the dawn of a new age.

I’m a toy maker by trade, and I own Roan’s Little Side Shop, at the corner of Bradley Boulevard and Spain Street. In general, we do not carry commercial products, as every thing here is made by me or my wife Ferris. Occasionally, despite our best efforts to remain entirely original, we must stock on toys developed by commercial developers, simply because we wouldn’t make money any other way. But now, even if we sell commercial products, we can’t compete with the newly built Toys R’ Us that recently opened next door. Nobody appreciates the novelty of a wooden train, hand carved to perfection, the pinnacle of the human hand’s ability to manipulate tools. I have no children, Ferris can’t have them or I can’t produce lively seed, I don’t know, and now we’re to old to adopt, well into our fifties. The toy shop is my only legacy, and now, soon, I’ll lose my mark on the Earth.

Today, the facilitators of the new Toys R’ Us visited us, offering ridiculous sums of money to buy my little toy shop. I have no choice. I can’t support my family with the competition. I accept, and I now have 3 weeks to close up shop and hand the deed over to them. Its sad really, another tale of a home grown business being swallowed by the big company, the new kids in town so to speak.