PDA

View Full Version : Another VCE Monologue

katykrab
09-05-2005, 02:36 AM
Hi

Like Sean I'm also studying The Winter's Tale for my end of year VCE monologue (when I say end of year I mean in the middle of october...), except I'm performing Hermione's monologue from the courtroom scene. I would really appreciate any ideas/feedback etc about not only that monologue but also Hermione as a character. In particular i'm struggling to grasp her emotional state at the time of that scene- while i realise she's upset, i'm unsure as to whether i should be playing her as physically showing her emotions, or whether i should be conveying a more stable, sure-minded woman. Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Kate

Dotti56
09-05-2005, 09:05 PM
Hi Kate

I'm Kristie and I'm also oing Hermione and like you am totally stuck! But my teacher kinda said that at the start she is emotionally in disbelief and is, like, ummm... like "i cant bloody believe this!' lol sumthing like that, and then she starts pleading more and more after that. Hope it helps!!

byquist
09-09-2005, 12:46 AM
Hope to have time to get the play out, look at the speech, and give a hint or two.

But in the meantime, I saw a production a few years ago and when she entered that scene it was like she had been in a dungeon for two months, ragedy clothes, having been treated really low. Her beauty and sweetness in the beginning was now fairly haggard and exhausted. This physical change just in itself made a deep impression, of how meanness and cruelty could crush a good person. Leontes momentarily has immense power to destroy her. This is a trial and he is the judge. But out of that mistreatment she, like Desdamona, even though standing up for her honesty and defending herself from attack and insult, still retained sweetness of character. She is still trying to communicate the truth to him, to clear up his messed-up mind.

katykrab
09-09-2005, 02:22 AM