PDA

View Full Version : Rereading Cranford!

Lady19thC
08-31-2005, 08:36 PM
Right now I am doing a reread of Cranford, one of my favourite classics, which I usually reread every year or two. Has anyone noticed that Gaskell's voice, in this particular novel, is much like that of Jane Austen? Possibly because the story revolves around a small circle of people, like Jane Austen's society, but even the writing style is so similar. Any other Cranford fans out there?

yxmcmu
03-07-2007, 02:31 AM
Now I am doing my thesis for my master's degree, and Cranford is what I am studying. The women 'society' Mrs Gaskell describes in this book really intrests me, but right now I need some materials about it, anyone can help?Thank you.

billcito
10-25-2007, 08:53 AM
Right now I am doing a reread of Cranford, one of my favourite classics, which I usually reread every year or two. Has anyone noticed that Gaskell's voice, in this particular novel, is much like that of Jane Austen? Possibly because the story revolves around a small circle of people, like Jane Austen's society, but even the writing style is so similar. Any other Cranford fans out there?