PDA

View Full Version : The things we think about

lavendar1
07-28-2005, 12:53 AM
When I consider the short duration of my life, swallowed up in the eternity before and after, the little space which I fill, and even can see, engulfed in the infinite immensity of spaces of which I am ignorant, and which know me not, I am frightened, and am astonished at being here rather than there; for there is no reason why here rather than there, why now rather than then. Who has put me here? By whose order and direction have this place and time been allotted to me? Blaise Pascal

Way back when I was an undergraduate, I was fascinated by the writings of a mathemetician (I am a "words" type) trying to make sense of his 'place' in the universe. I still wonder as I wander. Do you? And if you do, how would you respond to Blaise Pascal's questions?

Sitaram
07-28-2005, 04:04 AM
Many mourn the idea that we, as individuals, may not be here for eternity and that the day of our death may be the end of our existence as unique individuals. But no one ever seems mourn or grieve over the fact that an eternity passed prior to our existence. We have all faced an eternity of non-existence, and survived the experience, but that struggle was in our past and not in our future.

blp
07-28-2005, 08:24 AM
Don't be greedy, Blaise.

Scheherazade
07-29-2005, 04:30 AM
I consider myself lucky to be 'here' and that is it. I don't think that my existence is meant to have and will have a significance in the great scheme of things. Trying to give meanings to our presence in the universe is kind of a human indulgence; we would like to think we have a purpose but it seems like (to me at least) that we are the only species who does not serve to a purpose other than our own. What is more, we do harm/endanger others' survival as well. Thus, I am not sure if there is a purpose or deep meaning behind for our being here now...

Grab a bunch of pebbles and scatter them around: that is how and who we are.